Click below to see selections of BFA and MFA alumni from each of the School of Theater’s three Program areas:


Hugo Armstrong (BFA 98), stage and screen actor (Waiting for Godot, Bleed Rail, Land of the Tigers) — Ovation Award

Matt August (MFA 97), director (How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Discord: The Gospel According to Thomas Jefferson, Charles Dickens and Count Leo Tolstoy)

Elaine Avila (MFA 04), playwright (Quality), Robert Hartung Endowed Chair of Dramatic Writing, University of New Mexico

Cameron Bancroft (BFA 90), screen actor (Cedar Cove, Legends of Tomorrow)

Jesse Borrego (84), screen actor (American Crime)

Alison Brie (BFA 05), screen and voice actor (Mad Men, Community, BoJack Horseman) — SAG Award

Don Cheadle (BFA 86), screen actor (Hotel Rwanda, Crash, House of Lies, War Machine in MCU) — Golden Globe Award, Academy Award nomination

Eliza Coupe (BFA 05), stage and screen actor (Happy Endings, The Mindy Project, House of Lies)

Jennifer Elise Cox (BFA 91), screen actor (Web Therapy)

Michael Cudlitz (BFA 90), screen actor (The Walking Dead, Southland, Band of Brothers) — Critics Choice Television Award

Nataki Garrett (MFA 02), director, co-artistic director of Blank-the-Dog Productions

Dana Gourrier (MFA 10), screen actor (The Hateful Eight, Django Unchained, True Detective, American Horror Story)

Virginia Grise (MFA 09), playwright (blu) — Yale Drama Prize

Ed Harris (BFA 75), stage and screen actor (Westworld, The Truman Show, Apollo 13, The Hours, Game Change), director (Pollock) — 2 Golden Globe Awards, 4 Academy Award nominations

David Hasselhoff (73), “The Hoff,” screen actor (Baywatch), pop singer

Bill Irwin (72), clown, stage and screen actor (Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, Interstellar, Rachel Getting Married), director, playwright — Tony Award, MacArthur Genius Fellowship

Lars Jan (MFA 08), director, transmedia artist, founder and artistic director of Early Morning Opera (The Institute of Memory-TIMe, Abacus) — 2 TED Fellowships

Michael Jung (MFA 94), director, VP of Theatrical Development, Walt Disney Imagineering

Jessica Kubzansky (MFA 94), director (Mojada: A Medea in Los Angeles), co-artistic director of The Theatre @ Boston Court

Debi Manwiller (BFA 83), casting director — 2 Primetime Emmy Awards

Terence McFarland (MFA 03), associate executive director, Valley Performing Arts Center, California State University, Northridge

Emily Mendelsohn (MFA 09), director — Fulbright Fellowship

Katherine Noon (MFA 90), director, co-founder and artistic director of The Ghost Road Company

Beata Pilch (MFA 93), director, founder and artistic director of Trap Door Theatre

Poor Dog Group, experimental theater collective

Condola Rashad (BFA 09), stage and screen actor (Billions, Romeo and Juliet, The Trip to Bountiful, Stick Fly, Ruined, Steel Magnolias) — 2 Tony Award nominations

Paul Reubens (73), screen actor, creator of Pee-wee Herman and Pee-wee’s Playhouse — 3 Primetime Emmy nominations

Amy Keating Rogers (MFA 94), story animation writer (The Powerpuff Girls, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic) — 4 Primetime Emmy nominations

Douglas Rushkoff (MFA 86), media theorist, author (Present Shock: When Everything Happens Now), documentarian

Katey Sagal (72), screen and voice actor (Sons of Anarchy, Married with Children, Futurama), singer-songwriter — Golden Globe Award

Catherine Sullivan (BFA 92), artist, director and filmmaker — Alpert Award in the Arts

Cecily Strong (BFA 06), stage and screen actor, comedian (Saturday Night Live)

Amy Tofte (MFA 11), playwright, screenwriter

Bresha Webb (BFA 07), screen actor (Ride Along 2, Love That Girl!)

Derek Webster (BFA 93), screen actor (Ray Donovan, The Whispers)

Michole Briana White (91), stage and screen actor (Jitney, Fucking A, 100 Centre Street) — Obie, Drama Desk and Ovation awards

Chi-wang Yang (MFA 07), director, digital media artist, co-founder of Cloud Eye Control

Back to Top

Design and Production

Kevin Adams (MFA 86), lighting and scene designer (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, American IdiotThe 39 StepsSpring Awakening) — 4 Tony Awards, Fast Company 100 Most Creative People in Business

Brandon Stirling Baker (BFA 10), lighting designer (New York City Ballet)

Robert Barnhart (BFA 87), lighting designer — 8 Primetime Emmy Awards

Brian Garber (MFA 04), production manager, Theatre Arts Conservatory at Purchase College

Ian Garrett (MFA 08), producer and lighting designer — Center Theatre Group Richard A. Sherwood Award

Barbara Inglehart (MFA 86), costume supervisor (ScandalFifty Shades of Grey), co-author of Shopping L.A.: The Insider’s Sourcebook for Film & Fashion

Jeff Kleeman (BFA 87), technical director, Los Angeles Opera

Peter Ksander (MFA 01), scene designer (Untitled Mars [This Title May Change]) — Obie Award

Etta Lilienthal (MFA 99, BFA 97), designer for performance, environmental installation and architecture

Brian J. Lilienthal (MFA 03), lighting designer — Ovation Award

Christine Marie (MFA 09), shadow artist, director, inventor — TED Fellowship

Jamie McElhinney (MFA 03), audio artist, sound designer, engineer, Head of Audio, Found Sound Nation

David Kay Mickelsen (MFA 83), costume designer

Marco Morante (BFA 02), fashion and stage costume designer (Katy Perry, Nicki Minaj, Shakira)

Laura Mroczkowski (MFA 02), lighting and scene designer, co-artistic director of Blank-the-Dog Productions

Cricket S. Myers (MFA 03), sound designer (Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo) — Drama Desk Award, Tony nomination

Darcy Scanlin (MFA 00), production designer for stage and screen — Ovation Award

Leon Rothenberg (MFA 02), sound designer (The Nance) — Tony Award

Justin Townsend (MFA 03), lighting and scene designer (The Humans, American Psycho) — Obie and Drama Desk awards, 2 Tony nominations

Back to Top

Creative Producing and Management

Chad Bauman (MFA 03), managing director, Milwaukee Repertory Theater

Garth Belcon (BFA 95), production manager, NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts

Dan Friedman (MFA 03), manager, Bethlehem Economic Development Corporation

Laura Kay Swanson (Theater–Music MFA 11), executive director, Los Angeles Youth Orchestra

Dana Vasquez-Eberhardt (BFA 01), manager of Current Series Animation, Nickelodeon Animation Studio

Miranda Wright (MFA 09), executive director and producer, Los Angeles Performance Practice (LAPP) — Center Theatre Group Richard A. Sherwood Award

Laura Youngkin (MFA 10), principal, Brave Bandit

Back to Top